Tourism in the BSEC region

Tourism in the BSEC region
Nº of Pages: 
ISBN (electronic version): 

The Organization of the Black Sea Economics Cooperation (BSEC) is composed of 12 Member States in Europe, encompassing the territory of the Black Sea littoral States, the Balkans and the Caucasus. Eight are located within the UNWTO subregion of Central ans Eastern Europe; Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation and Ukraine, and four are within the sub-region of Southern ans Mediterranean Europe: Albania, Greece, Serbia and Turkey.

The group represents a market of 333 million consumers and a combined GDP of US$ 2.8 trillion (as of 2016), accounting for 14% of Europe's economy and 4% of the world's. Development and income levels vary substantially across the region.

BSEC comprises both established and emerging tourism destinations with varying degrees of infrastructure development, connectivity and brand strength. Tourism is a major economic pillar in some mature destinations, while in merging ones the potential for growth is still huge. Regional collaboration can play an important role in the development.

The region welcomed 115 million international tourists (overnight visitors) in 2016, equivalent to 9% of the world's total or 19% of Europe's arrivals. BSEC destinations earned US$ 57 billion (EUR 51 bn) in international tourism receipts last year, an estimated 5% of global receipts.